Having an Audience

It’s hard sometimes to keep having faith in your work. Every other day my mood drops and I want to just delete all the pages I have up and forget about writing because I start to think “No one wants to read what I have to say”, “My stories aren’t good enough”, “I can’t possibly ever make it”.

It’s so hard to get away from those thoughts. But I just try to keep telling myself that there are billions of people in the world; it’s less likely that no one would be interested in my work than it is for them to be interested. It’s just a matter of patience (something I lack) and reaching the right people.

It’s frustrating wanting to make a living off of something that takes so much time. I get excited when I gain followers but when I tell my husband he asks me if that means anything (will more followers mean income). I find it hard to map out for him that with running a blog dedicated to my writing it’s not about income it’s about building an audience that will potentially provide income when I’ve written something they can buy. Getting more people to see me and getting my name to actually mean something when I manage to finish a novel.

It’s also about motivation for me. Like I said, I’m impatient, I want things to happen now not later. So running a blog that’s dedicated to my work and having people appreciate it enough to follow me and like that work, keeps me from just giving up and throwing away my dreams. It keeps me motivated and on track with my goals. If I have an audience at least I know I’m heading in the right direction and can force myself to keep going.

The whole point is; someone will always want what you’re selling. The audience may not be as big as someone elses, but it’s your audience, and that’s all that matters.

2 responses to “Having an Audience

    • Thank you 🙂 I definitely will after seeing all the other writers on here who are doing their hardest also

Leave a Reply

