Confidence is hard to come by

I feel inadequate as a writer. Sometimes the things I write make me so proud, they form a life of their own, they breathe, they speak, they can live outside of me. But then there are times when I can’t bear to let anyone read what I have written, when I feel ashamed of the lack of skill I’ve shown. I become completely incapable of believing in myself. I stop writing. I close myself off to creative endeavors. I tell myself I can’t possibly make it.
But I have to. I have to see this dream through. I have to push myself past this nasty feeling of inadequacy and rise above it. Because if I don’t believe that I’m good at what I do, then who is going to?

Leave a Reply

